Open Access E-Repository @ Indian Institute of Horticultural Research >
Theses and Dissertations >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://www.erepo.iihr.ernet.in/handle/123456789/343

Title: Genetics of resistance to yellow vein mosaic virus, yield and yield components in okra (Abelmoschus esculentus L. Moench)
Authors: A T, Sadashiva
Guide/Chairperson: O P, Dutta
Keywords: Genetics
yellow vein mosaic virus
Issue Date: 1988
Year of Submission: 1988
Abstract: Screening of thirteen inbred lines of okra under field as well as under artificial controlled conditions indicated that all the inbred lines of okra were completely resistant to YVMV but the resistance was of symptomless carrier type. Segregation pattern for disease reaction in F2 generation of two crosses revealed seven (resistant): four (intermediate) and five susceptible. This segregation pattern can be explained assuming existence of two genes viz., YV1 and YV2 at two separate loci determining resistance. While their recessive alleles determine the susceptibility, this model entails that the resistance was imparted only when at least one of the genes was in homozygous dominant condition i.e., either YV1,YV1-or-YV2 YV2 genotype. While the intermediate expression was seen when both genes are in heterozygous condition (YV1, YV1-YV2 YV2). Combining ability studies indicated that both GCA and SCA effects were important for all the characters. However GCA variances were higher than SCA variances suggesting predominance of additive genetic variances for all characters.
URI: http://www.erepo.iihr.ernet.in/handle/123456789/343
University in which they received their degree: University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore
Degree Level: Ph.D

Files in This Item:

File Description SizeFormat
IIHR Abstracts PG Education_Pages 51.pdf149.04 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
View Statistics

Items in E-Repository@IIHR are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.


Valid XHTML 1.0! || Powered by DSpace ||  Feedback E-Repo Administrators: R Chithiraichelvan & S Thippeswamy